Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Adria Goetz of Martin Literary Management

Screen Shot 2020-01-15 at 1.05.14 PMAdria Goetz is a literary agent with Martin Literary Management.​

Adria is a Literary Manager, currently accepting queries for picture books, middle grade, young adult, graphic novels, quirky gift books, lifestyle books, cookbooks, adult nonfiction, Christian Living, and devotionals. She represents books both for the general market, and the Christian market.

Adria is a 2016 graduate of the Columbia Publishing Course in New York City, a six-week intensive course on all aspects of book, magazine, and digital media publishing. She is also a graduate of the University of Washington in Seattle with a B.A. in English with a creative writing emphasis. Adria worked for the Pierce County Library System for two years. Prior to becoming a Literary Manager, Adria fostered her knack for developing creative work during her three years as an intern and assistant at Martin Literary & Media Management.

If you’re not sure if your project is right for Adria, she hopes you send in a query anyway because she would love to take a look at your labor of love! She is specifically looking for:

Picture books: Adria loves magical stories like The Night Gardener, stories which feature everyday moments contemporary families experience, like Hair Love or My Papi Has a Motorcycle. She is also looking for funny commercial picture books.

Middle grade: In middle grade, Adria is looking for voice-y Own Voices stories like Front Desk, historical fiction, magical adventures like Circus Mirandus, hook-y high concept stories like Confessions of an Imaginary Friend, and graphic novels.

Young Adult: Graphic novels are at the top of Adria’s YA wishlist. Adria looks for a strong hook, and loves an atmospheric setting-driven book where the author draws the reader into the rich world they’ve built—whether that world is the bakery down the street, or an island in the sky. She would love to find something as gripping as Patron Saints of Nothing, a YA Romance like When Dimple Met Rishi or Don’t Date Rosa Santos. She would also love to find a lush, atmospheric mystery like Truly Devious, a thriller like One of Us is Lying, and magical realism in the vein of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. Also: mermaids.

Graphic Novels: Adria is looking for more MG and YA graphic novels. Some recent favorites of hers include: Pashmina, Making Friends, and Pumpkinheads. She would also love to work with someone who has a hybrid format similar to Brian Selznick’s works.

Adria lives in an old Victorian home in the Seattle area with her husband Alex and their two darling cats, Maple and Mulberry. To learn more about Adria and what she is (and isn’t) looking for, check out her wish list. She tweets at @AdriaMGoetz.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s